opinion

slide image
December 18, 2022
Italy’s direct help for Ukrainian refugees is rooted in its EU membership
A question arises: does Italy have double standards and treat people differently depending on where they come from? Or is there a reasonable explanation for the difference in attitudes towards the two groups of refugees?
17 year-old Marco Morchio on difference in Italy's approach to conflicts in Syria and Ukraine
slide image
December 07, 2022
(Un)Open art. Why is modern art so intimidating?
The feeling of misunderstanding art usually evolves from a lack of curated education. But if art is supposed to be free, should education truly play a crucial role in enjoying it?
Maria Chernova shares her opinion on the openness of art and closedness of art recipients.
slide image
December 02, 2022
Young people will pay the price for Putin’s push to re-enact the Cold War
Restoration of the Cold War is the last thing we need in the face of the climate crisis. Now more than ever, what we need is more cooperation between countries
16 year-old Sufiya Suleimenova explores the NATO expansion and climate change concerns
slide image
October 31, 2022
Cold Hard Cash, or Change Agent? Charities and the For-Profit Revenue Model
In the world of charitable giving, profit is a dirty word. Most charities rely heavily on donations as their primary source of income. Charities and businesses are divided, not only by their aims, but their revenue streams. Yet, in the bustling city of Kathmandu, I came to question the conviction of this dichotomy
Dylan Yip on incorporating business practice into charity
slide image
October 17, 2022
How war affected young Ukrainians - and what you can do about it?
I know that our stories might seem bizarre, scary, and unrelatable. But everyone can try to understand and relate. And everyone can help - even other young people, and teenagers from around the globe. Why? To support those in need
Maria Rybak shows how the war has influenced lives of young Ukrainians and how powerful world-wide support is
slide image
October 17, 2022
Volunteering at KL Plaszow Museum gave me a chance to fight the Nazi dehumanisation
To many, the concentration camp in Plaszow remains an unknown piece of history. A mere nine-person team at the KL Plaszow Museum and Memorial Site are working to change that. While I had the privilege of being the museum’s first volunteer, the KL Plaszow team hopes to recruit more as they continue working towards their opening in 2025.
17 year-old Jonathan Wong on the meaning of voluntary work
slide image
October 07, 2022
The Witcher - a feminist manifesto or a misogynistic tale?
Sapkowski’s saga is not only a fantasy tale - it is also a social commentary. That’s why the TV adaptation has brought into the limelight various types of discrimination, prejudice, and hate-rooted violence
Aleksandra Lasek inquires into the success of Yennefer of Vengerberg as a feminist role model
slide image
October 03, 2022
How jokes on TikTok help Ukrainians
Even during the war, people of different ages can still have a sense of humour and make jokes - which is an essential part of Ukrainian culture
Maria Chernova discusses how jokes on TikTok are helping her and other Ukrainians during the war
slide image
September 14, 2022
The Cupping Room
With the beans right in front of me, I could almost taste the coffee. The sweet and the tangy, the heavy notes and light texture barraging my nose. Tamie described to us the small yet complicated process of coffee roasting
16 year-old Christian Yeung takes a first step into the world of coffee culture, attending a roasting session at The Cupping Room
slide image
August 23, 2022
The voice of fashion stands in solidarity with Ukraine
As we say in Ukraine: “everything will be Ukraine!”. And if so, everything and everyone – including the fashion industry – must admit its political side
Maria Rybak describes how the fashion industry responded to the war in Ukraine
slide image
August 18, 2022
Trump and Johnson: the parallels between their populism and influence
Amongst all their similarities and differences, Trump and Johnson still command a large following. This following can become so loyal, that they are often given near God-like status and threaten to be above the law
Isaac Kadas compares the former leaders current grip to power
slide image
August 09, 2022
Are young people the biggest losers of the UK Conservative race?
Truss believes in spending today and paying it back later. From our young perspective, this benefits the Boomer Generation who will have lower income tax and soon go into retirement, whilst the working population of Millennials and Gen Z will have to pay the price
19 year-old Isaac Kadas explains how the Tory leadership race harms the future of those young today
slide image
August 08, 2022
Women’s Euro 2022, a success and an inspiration to the female youth
It is very refreshing to see how female sport is gaining more recognition and the respect it deserves. Women's football is the fastest growing sport in the UK, and it will be interesting to see how female athletes and sport will develop over the next decade
Timur and Sofiya report on public opinions towards Lionesses’ win in the final
slide image
August 08, 2022
I doubt that Liz Truss will make girls’ lives better. Here’s why
If elected she has the capabilities to make significant headway in the progression of women’s rights, however based on her history of ineffectual action, it is unlikely for her to make tangible change within the UK
17 year-old Grace Whitehouse considers how Women’s rights in Britain will be harmed under Liz Truss leadership
slide image
August 05, 2022
Feminism after the girlboss: anxiety of the bimbo
Bimboism claims to be a leftist-adjacent, anti-capitalist, pro-sex work, pro-LGBTQ feminist movement which attracts significant controversy on TikTok
Sophie Elliott explains ‘bimbo Tok’ in the context of modern feminism
slide image
August 04, 2022
Cost of a trendy pup; the flat-faced issue explained
Humanity has been playing god and creating new breeds for a long time now, and the moment to take responsibility has arrived
16 year-old Sofia Radysh investigates the problems of Brachycephalic dogs
slide image
July 09, 2022
War in Ukraine from the inside
My life, just like the life of other Ukrainians, has been divided into “before” and “after”. Before the 24th of February, I couldn't believe that in the twenty-first century people would be capable of starting an actual war
16 year-old Diana Kuksova reveals how it is to live as a teenager during war
slide image
July 05, 2022
It is teenage girls who will be affected the most by abortion bans in the US
The Supreme Court decision in Dobbs v. Jackson Women's Health Organization case, which removed the right for abortion in the US was done by a group which is 80 percent male, 80 percent white and 100 percent in their 50s or older. The societal group which is going to be affected by the change, is the complete opposite.
16 year-old Sofiya Suleimenova on the implications of overturning Roe vs Wade
slide image
April 05, 2022
Orbán’s comfortable win depicts how Hungary went further East than anyone in the West hoped
Had Orbán lost, there would have been global ramifications - but the same could be said after his victory. Despite recent defeats and being on the back foot, global populism is still alive and has a proven stronghold in Hungary, where one of its principal flagbearers is entrenched. Orbán’s victory shows that if run effectively enough, autocratic governments are very difficult to be unseated.
Isaac Kadas on Hungary’s eastbound journey
slide image
April 03, 2022
There is a global angle to the election in Hungary
Hungary is a nation less than 10 million strong, yet today’s election could unlock the global battle against nationalist populism.
Isaac Kadas explains the battle for populists' stronghold
slide image
March 30, 2022
In Russia’s invasion of Ukraine, I cannot help but see my two sister-nations at war
In Kazakhstan, like in any other former Soviet republic, there is a strong feeling that the Ukrainian struggle against Russia is going to define our fate as well, no matter which way it goes
Ilya Kan on the ripples Putin’s war sent across the former Soviet Union
slide image
November 26, 2021
The @feminist Instagram account took femvertising to the next level
When I look for activism content, I don’t wish to be discreetly tricked into buying a t-shirt, no matter how sustainable it is or what share of the profit goes to good causes.
Eva Smolokovskaya questions the ethics of the @feminist, a social media account with 6.4 million followers
slide image
August 24, 2021
For equality’s sake, Paralympics and Olympics should be united
Although it is hard to imagine, there was also a time when women were not included in the Olympics - yet, in 2021 we do not hold separate games for male and female athletes.
Jinn Ong argues for one Games for all athletes

opinion